Formulation All of our commitments

The art of  formulation

Inspired by nature, guided by science

Clarins Research constantly develops innovative formulas for beauty that respects the world around us as well as your skin.

Safety
Our triple requirement

Safety

Our first responsibility

Each of our formulas complies with strict criteria that exceed our regulatory requirements and environmental standards. Our ingredients are proven to be perfectly safe, our formulas are rigorously tested and our products are monitored at every stage of their lifecycle.

A plant between hands

All Clarins formulas are subjected to over 250 checks during their development.

A plant in a vial

Numerous substances have been
banned from our skincare
products in order to guarantee
the safest ingredients for your skin.

Effectiveness
Our triple requirement

Effectiveness

Your first requirement

For nearly 70 years, Clarins formulas have been renowned for their effectiveness. Our laboratories combine the best of nature and science to develop treatments with visible, measurable and undeniable results. This effectiveness has been proven by numerous tests and approved by thousands of people.

Effectiveness tests

We carry
out up to 900
effectiveness tests
for each of our products.

Image of a stopwatch

It takes at least 18 months to develop a new formula.

A sensorial experience
Our triple requirement

A sensorial experience

Joy at the heart of our treatments

We believe that taking care of yourself is as important as taking care of your skin. We are constantly exploring new ways to enhance the sensory qualities of our products with delightful textures, enticing fragrances and unique feelings of comfort. Clarins products are designed to create a moment of pure well-being each time you apply them.

A woman testing the products

More than 6,000 people a year test our formulas during their development and evaluate their sensory qualities

Continuous and  responsible innovation

Innovation

Do more, do it better and enjoy doing it...

Since our creation, this principle has guided us towards an idea of beauty that is both demanding and responsible. We systematically prioritize plant-based raw materials, while increasingly integrating more organic, local and fair trade ingredients into our products.

Year after year, we develop new products and improve our existing formulas using the latest innovations. This “open” research allows us to work towards more effective, natural and environmentally friendly treatments.

Our key figures

More than 80%

of the active ingredients in our products are of natural origin

100%

By 2025, 100% of our suncare and rinse-off formulas will be biodegradable
to help protect ecosystems.

Learn more about the Clarins Innovation

The Clarins Green Score: Evaluating toimprove progress

Before being incorporated into our products, all our raw materials are reviewed using the Clarins Green Score.

This measurement tool allows us to accurately assess the environmental, social and health impact of our ingredients across a range of criteria. Each formula is then given an overall score, by adding up the scores of the substances it contains.

The goal?
To select the best mix of ingredients to develop safe and effective products that are also respectful of people and nature.

The Green Score
The Green Score

Our key figures

By 2025

Improve the overall score of our products by at least 10%.

The Clarins Green Score

is based on 10 criteria, supported by 18 indicators.

Caring beauty that doesn’t cause animal suffering

Animals

When you love nature, protecting animals is a necessity.

Clarins stopped all animal testing many years ago in favor of alternative state-of-the-art methods. This allows us to guarantee high-quality products that are designed and manufactured with respect for animal welfare.

However, some countries require animal testing, which they carry out themselves to assess the safety of cosmetic products. We are obliged to comply with these regulations, but we are working closely with the relevant authorities to put an end to such practices.

Formulation TOUS NOS ENGAGEMENTS

L’Art de la formulation

Inspirée par la nature, guidée par la science

La recherche Clarins développe des formules toujours plus innovantes pour une beauté aussi respectueuse du monde qui nous entoure que de votre peau.

La sécurité
Notre triple exigence

La sécurité

Notre première responsabilité

Chacune de nos formules répond à des exigences drastiques qui dépassent nos obligations réglementaires et les standards environnementaux. Nos ingrédients doivent démontrer leur parfaite innocuité, nos formules sont rigoureusement testées et nos produits sont suivis à chaque étape de leur vie.

Une plante entre des mains

Chaque formule Clarins est soumise à plus de 250 contrôles durant son développement.

Une plante dans une fiole

De nombreuses substances ont été bannies de nos soins pour vous garantir les ingrédients les plus sûrs pour votre peau.

L'efficacité
Notre triple exigence

L’efficacité

Votre première exigence

Depuis près de 70 ans, les formules Clarins sont renommées pour leur efficacité. Nos laboratoires concilient le meilleur de la nature et de la science pour développer des soins aux résultats visibles, mesurables, incontestables. Une efficacité prouvée par de nombreux tests et approuvée par des milliers de personnes.

Tests d'efficacité

Nous réalisons jusqu’à 900 tests d’efficacité pour chacun de nos produits.

Image d'un chronomètre

18 mois minimum sont nécessaires pour mettre au point une nouvelle formule.

La sensorialité
Notre triple exigence

La sensorialité

Le plaisir au cœur du soin

À nos yeux, vous faire du bien est aussi essentiel que  prendre soin de votre peau. Nous explorons sans cesse des voies nouvelles pour sublimer la sensorialité de nos soins : textures exquises, parfums enivrants, confort unique… Les produits Clarins sont conçus pour faire de chaque application un pur moment de bien-être.

Une femme qui teste les produits

Plus de 6000 personnes par an testent nos formules en développement et en évaluent la sensorialité

Une innovation continue et responsable

Innovation

Faire plus, faire mieux et aimer le faire…

Depuis notre création, ce principe nous guide vers une beauté exigeante et responsable. Nous privilégions systématiquement les matières premières d’origine végétale, tout en intégrant toujours plus d’ingrédients bio, locaux ou équitables dans nos soins.

Année après année, nous développons de nouveaux produits et nous perfectionnons nos formules existantes grâce aux dernières innovations. Cette recherche « ouverte » nous permet d’avancer vers des soins sans cesse plus efficaces, naturels et respectueux de l’environnement.

Nos chiffres clés

Plus de 80 % des actifs

présents dans nos produits sont d’origine naturelle

100%

D’ici 2025, 100 % de nos formules solaires et rincées seront biodégradables
pour préserver les écosystèmes.

Découvrez-en plus sur l'innovation Clarins

Le Clarins Green Score : mesurer pour mieux progresser

Avant d’intégrer nos produits, toutes nos matières premières sont passées au crible du Clarins Green Score.

Cet outil de mesure nous permet d’évaluer avec précision l’impact environnemental, social et sur la santé de nos ingrédients suivant une multitude de critères. Chaque formule reçoit ensuite une note globale, en additionnant les scores des substances qui la composent.

L’objectif ?
Sélectionner le meilleur mix d’ingrédients pour développer des soins sûrs, efficaces, mais aussi respectueux des gens et de la nature.

Green score
Green score

Nos chiffres clés

D'ici 2025

Améliorer d’au moins 10 % le score global de nos soins.

Le Clarins Green Score

se base sur 10 critères, objectivés par 18 indicateurs.

Une beauté bienveillante et sans souffrance animale

Animaux

Quand on aime la nature, protéger les animaux est une évidence.

Clarins a abandonné toute expérimentation animale depuis de nombreuses années, au profit de méthodes alternatives de pointe. Nous vous garantissons ainsi des produits de haute qualité, conçus et fabriqués dans le respect du bien-être animal.

Certains pays imposent toutefois des tests sur les animaux, qu’ils pratiquent eux-mêmes, pour valider la sécurité des produits cosmétiques. Nous sommes contraints de nous y soumettre, mais nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec ces autorités pour mettre fin à ces pratiques.